Grace Cossington Smith art award 2021

2021 art award

The awards:

  • $15,000 awarded to the winner (acquisitive).
  • $2,500 awarded to an early career artist.
  • $2,500 awarded to a local artist from Hornsby and Kuring-gai area.

The winners will share a three-week group exhibition at the GCS


Announcing 45 works by leading and emerging Australian artists for the 2021 Grace Cossington Smith art award.

The final works were selected by guest judges:

Katrina Cashman, Gallery Manager & Senior Curator at the National Art School

and Oliver Watts, Senior Curator of Artbank, Sydney and artist

Louise Allerton  (NSW), Kim Anderson (VIC), Susan Andrews (NSW), Suzanne Archer (NSW), Dhinawan Baker (NSW), Ed Bartok (NSW), Deborah Beck (NSW), Max Berry (NSW), Lee Bethel (NSW), Amber Boardman (NSW), Kevin Chin (VIC), David Collins (NSW), Yvette Coppersmith (VIC), Jedda-Daisy Culley (NSW), Adrienne Doig (NSW), Chris Dolman (NSW), Nikki Easterbrook (NSW), Sarah Edmondson (NSW), David Fairbairn (NSW), Emily Galicek (NSW), Sophie Lee Georgas (NSW), Liron Gilmore (NSW), Eliza Gosse (NSW), Nadia Hernández (NSW), Nicole Kelly (NSW), Martin King (VIC), Belem Lett (NSW), Steve Lopes (NSW), Tom Loveday (NSW), Paula Mahoney (VIC), Lisa McKimmie (NSW), Bridgette Mcnab (VIC), Anh Nguyen (NSW), Amanda Penrose Hart (NSW), Katya Petetskaya (NSW), Julien Playoust (NSW), Rhonda Pryor (NSW), Cate Riley (NSW), Peter Sharp (NSW), Wendy Sharpe (NSW), Sally Stokes (NSW), Elefteria Vlavianos (NSW), Barbara Weir (NT), Agus Wijaya (NSW), Alice Wormald (VIC),

The Grace Cossington Smith Gallery closed due to government requirements to stop the spread of COVID-19.  Due to this closure, and uncertainties about a return to normal, we postponed the art award from 2020 until 2021.



Related downloads
GCS art award 2021 Media Release Download PDF
GCS art award 2021 Catalogue Download PDF