Belinda Murrell (Humphrey, 1981)

Belinda Murrell


Belinda Murrell is a bestselling, internationally published children's author with a legion of loyal fans. After studying Literature at Macquarie University, Belinda worked as a travel journalist, editor and technical writer.

While Belinda studied Children's Literature and Media Studies at Macquarie University, her passion for children's literature was reignited when she had her own three children and so began writing stories for them. Her 21 books include The Sun Sword fantasy trilogy and the Lulu Bell series for younger readers.

She is also known for her collection of other timeslip tales including The Sequin Star, The River Charm, The Locket of Dreams, The Forgotten Pearl, The Ruby Talisman and The Ivory Rose, which have been recognised by various awards, including Honour Book KOALAS 2013, shortlisted KOALAS 2014, 2012, and 2011, CBCA Notable List and highly commended in the PM's Literary Awards. Belinda has also written four picture books for pre-school children.

Belinda comes from a very literary family, with a history of Australian writers stretching back 180 years. Her great-great-great-great grandfather James Atkinson published his book on Australia in 1826, while his wife Charlotte published the first Australian children's book in 1841. Belinda's brother, Nick Humphrey and sister, Kate Forsyth (1984) are also both published best-selling authors.

Rate this page

  • Rate as Helpful0% Helpful votes
  • Rate as Not helpful0% Not helpful votes